Celiac disease (aka celiac sprue, nontropical sprue, and gluten-sensitive enteropathy) is a digestive disorder that causes affected individuals to have an immune-system reaction to gluten (protein). Gluten is found in wheat, both whole wheat and white, seminola, durum, spelt, kamut and faro, rye and barley. You should be careful about oats. Try to get the oats that are certified gluten-free. Bob's Red Mill makes these, get them at the health food store. The Irish oatmeal McCann's does not guarantee theirs to be gluten free.
The reaction triggered by the gluten damages the small intestine and prevents it from absorbing nutrients, which can lead to vitamin deficiencies that harm the brain, nervous system, bones, liver, and other organs, as well as stunt the growth of children with the disorder. Symptoms of celiac disease make it difficult to diagnose, as they can be vague and hard to pinpoint. Some of these include diarrhea, bloating, abdominal pain, fatigue, unexplained weight loss or gain, and unexplained anemia. Other symptoms include mood changes, fatigue, bone or joint pain, itchy skin rashes, muscle cramps, osteoporosis, and/or tingling numbness in the legs. Gluten intolerance is also associated with fibromyalgia.
According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, 1 in 133 people are afflicted with the disorder. Some sources put the number at 1 in 100 people. Whatever the number, nearly 97% of them go undiagnosed.
Undiagnosed celiac disease can lead to premature death, and also contribute to a low quality of life.
Besides the flours/grains mentioned above, here are some other products/foods that contain gluten.
malt or malt flavoring (usually made from barley)
hydrolyzed wheat protein
beer and grain-based alcohol
brown rice syrup
dry roasted nuts
hydrolyzed vegetable protein
lipstick, gloss or chapstick
modified food starch
some vitamin supplements
For a complete list google gluten containing products and there are many websites dedicated to celiac that will list these.
You look at this list and you say "what's left?' Well, here are some of the foods that you can consume.
Indian rice grass
Soy - but I don't recommend this
Meat - unprocessed
fish - avoid farm raised
dried peas, beans, peanuts
milk and milk products
coffee, tea, soda, wine gin, rum,
Remember, it will take some work to convert your diet to gluten free, but the benefits will far outway the trouble.